Mon, 29 November 2021

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
By Shabnam Nasimi
Home affairs
Press releases
By Women in Westminster

New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

New appointments this week in UK politics, civil service and public affairs

Dods People

3 min read Partner content

Dods People draws together a list of this week's appointments in Westminster politics, all the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Commons

Joint Committee on Consolidation, &c., Bills - Mims Davies and Amanda Milling discharged and Bim Afolami and Colin Clark appointed as members.

Finance Committee – William Wragg discharged and Luke Graham appointed as a member.

Northern Ireland Affairs Committee – Maria Caulfield discharged and Robert Goodwill appointed as a member.

Petitions Committee – Rehman Chishti discharged and Luke Hall added.

Women and Equalities Committee – Vicky Ford appointed as a member.

Government Departments:

Department for Education

Teaching Regulation Agency – Alan Meyrick named as the first Chief Executive.

School Teachers' Review Body - Robert Burgess and Jeanne Watson reappointed as members.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

NneNne Iwuji-Eme has been appointed British High Commissioner to the Republic of Mozambique in succession to Joanna Kuenssberg.

HM Treasury

Prudential Regulation Committee – David Thorburn resigned from the committee.

Department for Work and Pensions

Pensions Regulator - David Fairs to become Executive Director for Regulatory Policy, Analysis and Advice in July.

Industrial Injuries Advisory Council - Lesley Rushton to replace Keith Palmer as Chair on 1st April.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Met Office – Rob Varley stood down as Chief Executive, and Nick Jobling appointed to the role on an interim basis.

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Henry Dimbleby became lead non-executive board member with Elizabeth Buchanan, Lizzie Noel, Ben Goldsmith and Colin Day appointed as non-executive board members.

Local Authorities:

By-election Results 8th March

Bolton Council – Paul Sanders elected for Farnworth – Farnworth and Kearsley First gain from Labour. (Asif Ibrahim resigned).

Tameside Council – Laura Boyle elected for Droylsden East – Labour hold. (Kieran Quinn died).

Nottingham Council – Cate Woodward elected for Wollaton West – Labour gain from Conservative. (Georgina Culley died).

Rutland Council – Adam Lowe elected for Oakham South East – Independent gain from Conservative. (Tony Mathias resigned).

Harlow Council – Chris Vince elected for Little Parndon and Hare Street – Labour hold. (Jon Clempner resigned).

Dacorum Council – Lara Pringle elected for Northchurch – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservative. (Alan Fantham died).

Medway Council – Alex Paterson elected for Rochester West – Labour gain from Conservative. (Kelly Tolhurst MP resigned).

East Hampshire Council – Jamie Matthews elected for Petersfield Bell Hill – Independent gain from Conservative. (Thomas Spencer resigned).




Weber Shandwick - Anthony Marlowe to become Managing Director.

Field Consulting – Rob Jeffery to oversee a new energy practice.

Newington - Christine Quigley and Will McMyn to join as Associate Directors, overseeing the transport and infrastructure team and the energy and environment team respectively.

MDL Strategy – Michelle Di Leo to set up this new organisation.

Interest Groups

MHA - Sam Monaghan named as the new Chief Executive.

English National Opera - Stuart Murphy, to replace Cressida Pollock as Chief Executive on 3rd April.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.

PoliticsHome Newsletters

Get the inside track on what MPs and Peers are talking about. Sign up to The House's morning email for the latest insight and reaction from Parliamentarians, policy-makers and organisations.