Login to access your account

Mon, 13 July 2020

Personalise Your Politics

Subscribe now
The House Live All
New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs Member content
Operationally led, digitally enabled: A fresh approach to transforming legacy border systems Member content
Home affairs
Multi-year funding settlement needed to rescue policing Member content
Home affairs
By Dods Monitoring
Press releases

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Dods People

3 min read Member content

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Commons

The writ for the Brecon and Radnorshire by-election has been moved, and the by-election to elect a new MP is expected to take place on 1st August.

Procedure Committee - Alison Thewliss discharged and Kirsty Blackman appointed as a member.

Chris Williamson was readmitted to the Labour Party. The whip was subsequently removed, pending a further investigation by the Labour NEC disputes committee.

Government Departments:

Department for Exiting the European Union

Tim Shinner is to stand down as Director, Policy and Delivery Co-ordination.

Ministry of Defence

Angela McLean named as the next Chief Scientific Adviser.

Independent Medical Expert Group – John Scadding named as the new Chair, from 1st August.

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Consumer Council for Water – Robert Light was appointed as Chair for three years.

Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

Homes England – Edward Lister reappointed as Chair.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Office of Communications – Paula Carter appointed as the Chair of the Advisory Committee for England, and Aaqil Ahmed and Matthew Littleford appointed as members.

National Portrait Gallery - Joanna Kennedy reappointed as a Trustee for four years.

Department for International Trade

Stephen O’Brien appointed to the management board as a non-executive member for three years.

Non-Ministerial Departments

Government Actuary’s Department - Alison White and Ian Wilson are to become Non-executive Directors on 1st September.



Labour Party

Steve Reed became Shadow Minister for Children (formerly Shadow Minister for Civil Society).

Vicky Foxcroft became Shadow Minister for Civil Society (formerly a Whip).

Danielle Rowley became the first Shadow Minister for Climate Justice and Green Jobs.

Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Parliament

Tavish Scott will step down as the Liberal Democrat MSP for Shetland in July to take up a job with Scottish Rugby. The move will trigger a by-election in the constituency.

Education and Skills Committee - Gordon MacDonald and Rona Mackay now members.

Scottish Government

Sarah Davidson is to stand down as Director-General, Organisational Development and Operations.

National Assembly for Wales

Constitutional and Legislative Affairs Committee – Dawn Bowden removed as a member.

Local Authorities:

By-election Results 27th June

Mansfield Council – Dave Saunders elected for Sandhurst – Mansfield Independent Forum gain (caused by the election of Labour candidate Andy Abrahams as Mayor of Mansfield).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

Welsh NHS Confederation – Darren Hughes has been appointed as Director, starting on 27th August and Interim Director Nesta Lloyd-Jones is to become Assistant Director.

Centre for Mental Health - Kadra Abdinasir appointed as the new Head of Children and Young People's Mental Health, while continuing in her role as Strategic Lead for the Children and Young People's Mental Health Coalition.

Independent Age - Deborah Alsina to join as Chief Executive in October.

The Carnegie Trust – Sarah Davidson to become Chief Executive in August.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service


Home affairs
Associated Organisation
Partner content
NHS Parliamentary Awards

The NHS Parliamentary Awards sponsored by Fujifilm are a chance for all MPs in England to celebrate the outstanding care they and their constituents receive.

Find out more