Fri, 7 October 2022

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Home affairs
Gender recognition reform: Britain's governments must work together to minimise uncertainties Partner content
Home affairs
Home affairs
Press releases

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Imogen Spencer-Dale | Dods People

3 min read Partner content

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.


All details of the new government, with comparisons to the old government can be found here


Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Baroness Wolf of Dulwich was Crossbench and now is Non-affiliated.

Lord Elystan-Morgan (Crossbench, life peer) retired from the Lords 12 February

Joint Committee on Consolidation, &c, Bills - Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd appointed as a member.

Public Services Committee - Baroness Armstrong of Hill Top appointed as Chair, Lord Bichard, Lord Bourne of Aberystwyth, Lord Davies of Gower, Lord Filkin, Lord Hogan-Howe, Lord Hunt of Kings Heath, Baroness Pinnock, Baroness Pitkeathley, Baroness Tyler of Enfield, Baroness Wyld and Lord Young of Cookham appointed as members.

House of Commons

European Statutory Instruments Committee - Geraint Davies, Flick Drummond, Mark Garnier, Andrew Jones, Stephen Kinnock, Charlotte Nichols, Amanda Solloway, Owen Thompson, and Craig Williams appointed as members.


Departments of State:

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Harriet Cross appointed as British High Commissioner to the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago in succession to Tim Stew in July.

Paul Fox appointed as Her Majesty’s Ambassador to Hungary in succession to Iain Lindsay in September.

Simon Martin appointed as Her Majesty’s Ambassador to the Kingdom of Morocco in succession to Thomas Reilly.

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Civil Nuclear Constabulary - Louise Harrison to become Assistant Chief Constable on 17th February.

HM Treasury

Financial Conduct Authority – Sheldon Mills to become Interim Executive Director of Strategy and Competition on 16th March.

Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government

Permanent Secretary Melanie Dawes to stand down in March.

Homes England - Harry Swales appointed as Executive Director of Markets, Partners and Places.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Ofcom – Melanie Dawes to become Chief Executive in March.



Scottish Conservatives

Jackson Carlaw elected as the new Leader.


Devolved Authorities:

National Assembly for Wales

Nick Ramsay re-instated as a Conservative AM.

Assembly Commission - Rhun ap Iorwerth replaces Sian Gwenllian as a member.

Welsh Government

Ken Skates appointed as Minister for North Wales, remaining as Minister for Economy and Transport.

Northern Ireland Government

Northern Ireland Transport Holding Company - Mark Sweeney named as Interim Chair.

Northern Ireland Assembly

Business Committee - Gary Middleton replaced George Robinson as a member.


Local Authorities:

Cheshire East Council - Lorraine O’Donnell due to replace Kath O’Dwyer as Chief Executive.

By-election Results 13th February

East Staffordshire council – Laura Beech elected for Yoxall – Conservative hold (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor Alan Johnson).

Huntingdonshire council – Adam Roberts elected for St Ives  East – Conservative hold (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor Jason Ablewhite).

Hertsmere council – Brett Rosehill elected for Borehamwood Kenilworth – Conservative gain from Labour (caused by the resignation of Labour councillor Kumail Jaffer).

Waverley council – Maxine Gale elected for Milford – Independent gain from Independent. (caused by the death of Independent councillor Jack Lee).

Thanet council – Marc Rattigan elected for Cliffsend and Pegwell – Conservative hold (caused by the resignation of Conservative councillor David Stevens).



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at [email protected]

Interest Groups

Pilotlight – Ed Mayo to replace Gillian Murray as Chief Executive in the summer.

Action for Children – Julie Bentley to resign as Chief Executive.

Trade Associations

RenewableUK - Melanie Onn to become Deputy Chief Executive on 9th March.

PoliticsHome Newsletters

Get the inside track on what MPs and Peers are talking about. Sign up to The House's morning email for the latest insight and reaction from Parliamentarians, policy-makers and organisations.

Read the most recent article written by Imogen Spencer-Dale - New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs


Home affairs