Login to access your account

Sat, 24 October 2020

Personalise Your Politics

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Home affairs
Inequality has widened - it’s time for action Partner content
Home affairs
Press releases

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

PA Images

Dods People

2 min read Partner content

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Lord Morris of Handsworth (Labour, life peer) retired from the House of Lords on 21st July.

House of Commons

Backbench Business Committee – Gareth Bacon replaced Nickie Aiken as a member.

Housing, Communities and Local Government Committee – Ian Levy replaced Daniel Kawczynski as a member.

Procedure Committee - James Gray and Douglas Ross replaced Anthony Mangnall and Gary Sambrook as member.

Women and Equalities Committee - Elliot Colburn replaced Nickie Aiken as a member.


Departments of State:

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Ofcom - Melissa Tatton to become Interim Group Director, Corporate in September.

Department for Transport

Highways England- Dipesh J Shah to replace Colin Matthews as Chair.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Sarah Munby became Permanent Secretary on 20th July.

Financial Reporting Council - Mark Babington has been appointed Executive Director, Regulatory Standards, while Alex Kuczynski has been appointed Executive Director, Corporate Services and General Counsel.

Groceries Code Adjudicator – Mark White to replace Christine Tacon as Adjudicator later in the year and will work alongside her as Deputy in the interim.

Non-Ministerial Departments

HMRC – Melissa Tatton to stand down as Valuation Office Agency Chief Executive.


Devolved Authorities:

Northern Ireland Government

Legal Services Board - Flora Page and Stephen Gowland appointed as non-lay members and Marina Gibbs reappointed as a lay member.


Local Authorities:

Allerdale Borough Council – Andrew Seekings appointed as Chief Executive having been in the role on an interim basis.

Brighton and Hove Council - Phelim Mac Cafferty became the Leader of the Council, replacing Labour’s Nancy Platts as the Green Party took control of the council.

Staffordshire County Council – Alan White became Leader of the Council, replacing Philip Atkins.



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

Refugee Council – Enver Soloman appointed as Chief Executive.

The Fawcett Society – Sam Smethers to stand down as Chief Executive.

Muslim Aid - Kashif Shabir replaced Jehangir Malik as Chief Executive on an interim basis.

European Foundation Centre – Delphine Moralis to become Chief Executive in September, replacing Gerry Salole.

Overcoming Multiple Sclerosis - Grazina Berr replaced Gary McMahon as Chief Executive

Associated Organisation
Engineering a Better World

Can technology deliver a better society? In a new podcast series from the heart of Westminster, The House magazine and the IET discuss with parliamentarians and industry experts how technology and engineering can provide policy solutions to our changing world.

New episode - Listen now