Thu, 4 March 2021

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Budget 2021: Green Homes Grant success pivotal for a green recovery  Partner content
After Brexit and ahead of COP, UK construction must review supply chains Partner content
MPs urge government to heed skills shortage threat to net zero Partner content
By Dods Monitoring
Press releases

Voting for four new BVA regional representatives opens

British Veterinary Association

2 min read Partner content

The British Veterinary Association (BVA) has opened voting today (18 January) for four new regional representatives to be the voice for vets in their area and to represent their views to BVA Council.

BVA’s regional representatives are integral to the activities of Council, contributing to effective horizon scanning on matters of veterinary policy and providing an informed steer to BVA’s Policy Committee.

BVA members in the East of England, South East, North West and Scotland are being invited to pick their preferred candidate out of the nominees for each region. The nominees are:

  • South East: Eleanor Duffy, Paul Horwood, Fieke Molenaar and Christina Ratcliffe
  • East of England: Louise Rayment-Dyble and Johanna Sharples
  • North West: Ben Dustan, Kate Higgins, Neil Howie and Vanessa Whitfield
  • Scotland: Emma Callaghan, Matthew Erskine, Bobby Kirby, and James Wallace.

The elected candidates will serve on BVA Council for a three-year term.

BVA President James Russell said:

“With an increasingly complex veterinary landscape and a year marked by huge challenges to the profession, it is more important than ever that our members have robust representation at the highest level within BVA. I’d encourage everyone who’s eligible to vote to take this opportunity to elect a candidate who can be a strong voice for vets in their region.”

All BVA members in the four regions will receive voting instructions directly via email from UK Engage, who are administering the election on the association’s behalf. Voting closes at 5pm on 15 February.

Candidate biographies and instructions for voting online can be viewed here


Associated Organisation
Partner Content
Inclusive Capitalism

The next decade holds big challenges and it rarely has it been so important to show that capitalism and social progress aren’t opposing forces. Quite the opposite. All it takes is a longer-term view, a more inclusive attitude and for everyone to take that first step.

Find out more