Mon, 27 May 2024

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
How the UK can unlock the opportunities of the global expansion of offshore wind Partner content
Home affairs
London Luton Airport expansion will help Luton soar Partner content
Press releases

All The MPs Standing Down At The Next General Election


2 min read

With the next general election less than two years away, sitting MPs are having to decide whether they want to put themselves forward again to stand for another term.

Conservative MPs have been given a deadline of 5 December to inform the party whether they would like to be on the ballot. 

Labour’s selection process for the next election is already in progress, and many sitting MPs have already informed their local party that they do not intend to stand again.

PoliticsHome is keeping track of all the MPs who have announced they're not running in this interactive spreadsheet, which included detail of how vulnerable the seat is. 

The next general election must be called by December 2024, meaning it could be held as late as January 2025. It is most likely it will take place sometime in 2024.

At the last general election in 2019, a total of 74 MPs announced that they would not stand again, while in 2017 it was 31 MPs.

Several high profile Labour MPs have already announced their decision not to run again, including “Mother of the House” Harriet Harman and longstanding Derby South MP Margaret Beckett, who served as the first female foreign secretary.

Three MPs elected during Labour’s 1997 landslide victory under Tony Blair are also leaving the commons – Alan Whitehead, Ben Bradshaw and Rosie Winterton. 

Among the Tories, levelling up minister Dehenna Davison has become the first MP elected at the 2019 election to announce she won’t run again.

At 29 years old, she is one of the youngest MPs in her party, and said she was choosing to stand down as she hadn’t “had anything like a normal life for a 20-something”.

Former health secretary and one-time leadership contender Sajid Javid has also announced he's resigning his seat.

And William Wragg, a vice-chairman of the influential 1922 Committee, has announced his intention not to run again. He joined the Commons in 2015, when he was 27 years old.

Other notable Conservatives not contesting the next election include former Cabinet minister Chloe Smith, who most recently served as work and pensions secretary, and former education minister Chris Skidmore.

Here are all the MPs standing down at the next general election

PoliticsHome Newsletters

PoliticsHome provides the most comprehensive coverage of UK politics anywhere on the web, offering high quality original reporting and analysis: Subscribe

Read the most recent article written by Eleanor Langford - Who Is Going On Strike And When In February?


Home affairs