Sun, 21 July 2024

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
By Ben Guerin
How process and broken promises have stalled progress towards veterans' wellbeing Partner content
Press releases

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Douglas Ross was elected unopposed as the new Leader of the Scottish Conservatives. | PA Images

Dods People

3 min read

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

New Conservative life peers announced:

Lorraine Fullbrook, Edward Udny-Lister, Daniel Moylan, Andrew Sharpe, Michael Spencer, Veronica Wadley, James Wharton, Helena Morrissey, Neil Mendoza, Henry Bellingham, Kenneth Clarke, Ruth Davidson, Philip Hammond, Nicholas Herbert, Joseph Johnson, John Mark Lancaster, Patrick McLoughlin, Aamer Sarfraz and Edward Vaizey.

New Labour life peers announced:

Susan Hayman, Prem Sikka, Anthony Woodley, Kathryn Clark and Brinley Davies.

New Democratic Unionist Party life peer announced:

Nigel Dodds.

New non-affiliated life peers announced:

Claire Fox, Charles Moore, Frank Field, Catharine Hoey, Ian Austin, Gisela Stuart and John Woodcock.

New crossbench life peers announced:

Ian Botham, Louise Casey, Evgeny Lebedev and Nemat (Minouche) Shafik.


Lord Livermore is on a leave of absence since 31st July.


Departments of State:

Philip Barton to become the first Permanent Under Secretary in the new Foreign Commonwealth and Development Office in September.

Cabinet Office

Lord Nash appointed as the new Lead Non-Executive Director, replacing Ian Cheshire.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Joanna Roper has been appointed Her Majesty’s Ambassador to the Kingdom of the Netherlands in succession to Peter Wilson.

Barbara Woodward named as the UK Permanent Representative to the United Nations in New York.

National Cyber Security Centre – Lindy Cameron to become the Chief Executive in October, replacing Ciaran Martin.

Department for Health and Social Care

Fiona Caldicott to stand down as National Data Guardian, a replacement is being recruited.

Ministry of Justice

Charlie Taylor announced as the preferred candidate for next Her Majesty’s Chief Inspector of Prisons.

Northern Ireland Office

Lindy Cameron to stand down as Director-General.

Home Office

Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs – Sarah Galvani, Judith Aldridge and David Wood appointed as members.

Non-Ministerial Departments

HM Revenue & Customs – Justin Holliday appointed as Tax Assurance Commissioner, replacing Melissa Tatton.



Scottish Conservatives

Douglas Ross was elected unopposed as the new Leader.


Devolved Authorities:

Welsh Parliament

Public Accounts Committee – Angela Burns became a member.

Economy, Infrastructure and Skills Committee – Suzy Davies became a member.

Health, Social Care and Sport Committee – Andrew RT Davies replaced Angela Burns as a member.

Climate Change, Environment and Rural Affairs Committee – Janet Finch-Saunders replaced Andrew RT Davies as a member.

Legislation, Justice and Constitution Committee – David Melding replaced Suzy Davies as a member.

External Affairs and Additional Legislation Committee – Laura Anne Jones replaced David Melding as a member.

Children, Young People and Education Committee – Laura Anne Jones replaced Janet Finch-Saunders as a member.


Local Authorities:

Dacorum Borough Council – Claire Hamilton named as the new Chief Executive, replacing Sally Marshall at the end of October.

Salford City Council – Jim Taylor to stand down as Chief Executive in January.



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

Joseph Rowntree Foundation - Denise Holle to join as Head of Social Investment.

The Royal Free Charity – Jon Spiers appointed as Chief Executive.

Anthony Nolan - Antonio Pagliuca appointed as Chief Medical and Scientific Adviser.

PoliticsHome Newsletters

Get the inside track on what MPs and Peers are talking about. Sign up to The House's morning email for the latest insight and reaction from Parliamentarians, policy-makers and organisations.