Sun, 21 July 2024

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
By Ben Guerin
How process and broken promises have stalled progress towards veterans' wellbeing Partner content
Press releases

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Ruth Jones MP has been appointed Labour Shadow Minister for Natural Environment and Air Quality. | PA Images

Dods People

2 min read

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

A peerage was conferred on David Frost on 12 August, his title is Lord Frost.


Departments of State:

Prime Minister's Office

Jill Young appointed as Lord Lieutenant for Dunbartonshire to succeed Rear Admiral Michael Gregory OBE who is due to retire on 15 December.

Cabinet Office

Richard Tilbrook appointed as the Prime Minister’s Appointments Secretary following the retirement of Edward Chaplin CMG OBE at the end of last year.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Treasure Valuation Committee – Roger Bland appointed as Chair and Megan Gooch as Trustee.

National Heritage Memorial Fund – Jim Dixon and Perdita Hunt re-appointed as members.

Ofcom Advisory Committee for Scotland – Jessica McBeath and Elizabeth Partyka appointed as members.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

George Edgar OBE appointed High Commissioner to Fiji in succession to Melanie Hopkins.

Home Office

Dan O’Mahoney named as the first Clandestine Channel Threat Commander.

Ministry of Justice

Boundary Commission for Wales – Nerys Jefford appointed as Deputy Chair.

Boundary Commission for England – Peter Richard Lane appointed as Deputy Chair.

Tribunal Procedure Committee – Philip Brook Smith and Susan Humble appointed as members.

Non-Ministerial Departments

HM Revenue & Customs – Karl Khan named as Director-General of Customer Services, Jo Rowland as Director-General of the HMRC Covid-19 Response Unit, and Jonathan Russell reappointed as the interim Chief Executive of the Valuation Office Agency.



Labour Party

Ruth Jones appointed as Shadow Minister for the Natural Environment and Air Quality.


Devolved Authorities:

Northern Ireland Executive

Health and Social Care Board – Dr Theresa Donaldson, Catherine McCallum OBE and Norman McKinley appointed as Lay Members on 1 August. Dr Nazia Latif and Dr Thomas Moore appointed as Lay Members from 1 September.


Local Authorities:

Sheffield City Council – Kate Josephs to become Chief Executive in January.

Northumberland County Council – Daljit Lally has gone on extended leave from her role as Chief Executive.

West Northamptonshire Council – Anna Earnshaw to become Chief Executive of the new unitary authority.



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Trade Associations

Royal Institute of British Architects – Simon Allford has been elected the next President from September 2021, becoming President-elect on 1 September 2020.

Interest Groups

British Horseracing Association – Julie Harrington to replace Nick Rust as Chief Executive later in the year.

PoliticsHome Newsletters

Get the inside track on what MPs and Peers are talking about. Sign up to The House's morning email for the latest insight and reaction from Parliamentarians, policy-makers and organisations.