Tue, 23 July 2024

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Building societies ready to work with the Government to support first-time buyers, savers and economic growth Partner content
By Ben Guerin
How process and broken promises have stalled progress towards veterans' wellbeing Partner content
Press releases

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Lord Keen stood down as Advocate General for Scotland. | PA Images

Dods People

3 min read

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

New peers announced:

Lord Spencer of Alresford (Conservative, life peer)

Lord Moore of Etchingham (Non-affiliated, life peer)

Lord Mendoza (Conservative, life peer)

Lord Lancaster of Kimbolton (Conservative, life peer)

Lord Sharpe of Epsom (Conservative, life peer)

Baroness Fleet (Conservative, life peer)

Baroness Fox of Buckley (Non-affiliated, life peer)

Baroness Hoey  (Non-affiliated, life peer)

Lord Field of Birkenhead (Non-affiliated, life peer)

Lord Sedwill (Crossbench, life peer)

Lord Magan of Castletown (Conservative, life peer) went on a leave of absence.

Lord Clarke of Stone-cum-Ebony (Crossbench, life peer) retired 14th September.

House of Commons

European Statutory Instruments Committee – James Grundy and Jacob Young replace Vicky Ford and Mark Garnier as members.

Intelligence and Security Committee – Bob Stewart replaced Chris Grayling as a member.


Departments of State:

Lord Keen stood down as Advocate General for Scotland.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Energy

UK Atomic Energy Authority – Paul Methven became the STEP (Spherical Tokamak for Energy Production) Programme Director.

UK Accounting Standards Endorsement Board – Pauline Wallace appointed as the Chair.

Office of the Secretary of State for Scotland and Office of the Advocate General for Scotland

Ross Finnie, Martin Dorchester and Stuart Patrick named as Non-executive Board Members.

Foreign, Commonwealth & Development Office

John Rankin has been appointed Governor of the British Virgin Islands.

Corinne Kitsell has been appointed as UK Permanent Representative to the International Atomic Energy Agency and the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization in Vienna, replacing David Hall.



Liberal Democrats

Daisy Cooper elected as Deputy Leader.


Devolved Authorities:

Welsh Parliament

Wales Audit Office – Lindsay Foyster to become Chair on 17th October.

Independent Remuneration Board of the Senedd – Elizabeth Haywood appointed as Chair and Hugh Widdis as board member.

Scottish Parliament

Covid-19 Committee - Stuart McMillan replaced Stewart Stevenson and Mark Ruskell replaced Ross Greer as a member.

Culture, Tourism, Europe and External Affairs Committee - Stewart Stevenson replaced Stuart McMillan as a member.

Standards, Procedures and Public Appointments Committee – Patrick Harvie replaced Mark Ruskell as a member.


Local Authorities:

Cleveland Police and Crime Commissioner - Lisa Oldroyd named as Acting Police and Crime Commissioner, replacing Barry Coppinger until the May 2021 election.

Durham County Council – Terry Collins to retire as Chief Executive.

Burnley Borough Council - Charlie Briggs resigned as Leader.

Merton Council - Stephen Alambritis to stand down as Leader on 18th November.



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at


Universities and Colleges Admissions Service - John Cope to become Director of Strategy, Policy and Public Affairs.


Weber Shandwick – Ed Taylor promoted to become Managing Director, Corporate Affairs.

Interest Groups

Action on Hearing Loss - Harriet Oppenheimer has been appointed as new Deputy Chief Executive.

PoliticsHome Newsletters

Get the inside track on what MPs and Peers are talking about. Sign up to The House's morning email for the latest insight and reaction from Parliamentarians, policy-makers and organisations.