Login to access your account

Sat, 30 May 2020

Personalise Your Politics

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Home affairs
Warning to Chancellor of the Exchequer: Don’t turn your back on law and order Member content
Why collaboration holds the key to coordinated border management Member content
Press releases

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Imogen Spencer-Dale | Dods People

4 min read Member content

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

Lord Mann joined the House of Lords on 29th October as a non-affiliated life peer.

Lord Ranger joined the House of Lords on 29th October as a Conservative life peer.           

The Bishop of Blackburn joined the House of Lords on 29th October.

Lord Hendy joined the House of Lords on 28th October as a Labour life peer.

Baroness Hunt of Bethnal Green joined the House of Lords on 28th October as a crossbench life peer.

Baroness Emerton retired as a crossbench life peer on 1st November.

Lord Carswell retired as a crossbench life peer on 29th October.

Lord Pearson of Rannoch has left the UK Independence Party and now sits as non-affiliated.

High Speed Rail (West Midlands–Crewe) Bill Committee – Lord Walker of Gestingthorpe appointed as Chair. Lord Flight, Lord Jones of Cheltenham, Lord Haselhurst, Lord Liddle, Lord Porter of Spalding and Lord Snape named as members.

Democracy and Digital Technologies Committee - Baroness McGregor-Smith appointed as a member in place of Lord Dobbs.

Social and Economic Impact of the Gambling Industry Select Committee - Lord Parkinson of Whitley Bay appointed as a member.

Science and Technology Committee – Baroness Penn appointed as a member in place of Lord Griffiths of Fforestfach.

Procedure Committee – Baroness Harris of Richmond appointed as a member.

Liaison Committee – Baroness Walmsley appointed as a member in place of Lord Newby.

Hybrid Instruments Committee – Baroness Jenkin of Kennington appointed as a member.

European Union Committee – Lord Oates appointed as a member.

Constitution Committee – Lord Howell of Guildford appointed as a member.

House of Commons

John Bercow stood down from the role of Speaker.

John Mann stood down as Labour MP for Bassetlaw to join the House of Lords.

Antoinette Sandbach joined the Liberal Democrats.

Alistair Burt, Caroline Nokes, Greg Clark, Nicholas Soames, Ed Vaizey, Margot James, Richard Benyon, Stephen Hammond, Steve Brine and Richard Harrington has the Conservative Whip restored.


Government Departments:

Ministry for Housing, Communities and Local Government

Lord Mann started work as an Independent Adviser on Anti-Semitism.

HM Treasury

The Crown Estate - Karen Jones is appointed as Board Commissioner from 1st January, and James Darkins reappointed to the board.

Department for International Trade

UK Export Finance – Carl Williamson appointed as Head of Trade Finance.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Richard Morris has been appointed British High Commissioner to the Republic of Fiji in succession to Ms Melanie Hopkins.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Theatres Trust - Truda Spruyt appointed as a board member.

Treasure Valuation Committee - Marian Campbell reappointed as a trustee.

National Gallery - Catherine Goodman, Lord Tony Hall and Stuart Roden appointed as Trustees.

Non-Ministerial Departments

HM Revenue & Customs – Jim Harra appointed as the new Chief Executive and First Permanent Secretary, having been in the role on an interim basis.

Mark Denney appointed as interim Chief Digital and Information Officer, replacing Jacky Wright.



UK Independence Party

Richard Braine resigned as Leader.


Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Parliament

David McGill took up the post of Clerk and Chief Executive to the Parliament, replacing Paul Grice.


Local Authorities:

West Sussex County Council - Paul Marshall replaced Louise Goldsmith as Leader.

Newry, Mourne and Down District Council - Liam Hannaway stood down as Chief Executive.

By-election Results 31st October

Worcestershire Council - Kyle Daisley elected for Bromsgrove South - Conservative gain from Labour (caused by the resignation of Labour councillor Chris Bloore).



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

UK Youth - Ndidi Okezie to replace Anna Smee as Chief Executive.


Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service

Read the most recent article written by Imogen Spencer-Dale - New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs


Home affairs
Associated Organisation
Partner content
The Cybersecurity Summit

Join Cyber Security and ICT professionals from across central government, local government, law enforcement and wider public sector, to tackle key issues at the heart of UK public sector.

Find out more

Partner content
NICE Annual Conference 2020

NICE 2020: Connecting evidence, people and practice showcases the latest developments in clinical improvement, health technologies and patient-centred quality care.

Find out more