Thu, 7 December 2023

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Press releases

Who's been hired, fired or retired this week in UK politics – 25 November

4 min read

A round up of people moves and appointments in UK and devolved politics, the civil service and public affairs, from our colleagues at Dods People.

Get People Moves straight to your inbox. Sign up here.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Commons

Stretford and Urmston by-election – Statement of Persons Nominated:

Backbench Business Committee – Wendy Morton added; Jerome Mayhew discharged.

Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy Committee – Jane Hunt added.

Health and Social Care Committee – Caroline Johnson added; Laura Trott discharged.

International Development Committee – David Mundell added; Dan Poulter discharged.

Public Administration and Constitutional Affairs Committee – Damien Moore added; David Mundell discharged.

Transport Committee – Paul Howell added; Robert Largan discharged.

Treasury Committee – John Baron, Danny Kruger, Andrea Leadsom and Anne-Marie Morris added; Gareth Davies, Kevin Hollinrake and Julie Marson discharged.

House of Lords

Baroness Anderson of Stoke-on-Trent (Ruth Smeeth; Labour) and Lord Prentis of Leeds (Labour) were raised to the peerage on 18 November. Baroness Anderson’s introduction will be on 8 December and Lord Prentis’ on 13 December.

Lord Peach (Crossbench) and Lord Watson of Wyre Forest (Labour) were raised to the peerage on 21 November. Lord Peach’s introduction will be on 12 December. Lord Watson’s introduction date still to be confirmed.


Conservative Party

Paul Holmes MP appointed as Vice-chair with responsibility for Policy; Rachel Maclean MP appointed as Vice-chair with responsibility for Candidates; Craig Tracey MP appointed as Vice-chair with responsibility for Local Government Campaigns.

Mohamed Y Ali re-appointed as Vice-chair with responsibility for Faith; Saqib Bhatti MP re-appointed as Vice-chair with responsibility for Business.

UK Government:

Prime Minister's Office

The Venerable Dr Jane Mainwaring’s nomination to the Suffragan See of Hertford approved, succeeding The Right Reverend Dr Michael Beasley following his appointment as Bishop of Bath and Wells.

Ministry of Defence

Defence Logistics and Support – Rear Admiral Andy Kyte CB appointed as Chief, in the rank of Vice Admiral, from September 2023.

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs 

Forestry Commission – Ross Murray appointed for three years; Julia Grant re-appointed for two years until 31 October 2024; Jennie Price and Peter Latham re-appointed for three years until 31 March 2025.

Marine Management Organisation – Peter Judge MBE re-appointed to the Board for four years until 31 October 2026; David Lyall re-appointed to the Board for three years until 31 October 2025.

Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office

Giles Portman appointed as His Majesty’s Ambassador to Romania in October 2023, succeeding Andrew Noble LVO.

Government Equalities Office

Social Mobility Commission – Rob Henderson has stepped down from the Commission.

Department of Health and Social Care

Healthwatch England Committee – Belinda Black appointed as Interim Chair until 31 January 2023.

Department for International Trade

Lord Johnson of Lainston re-appointed as Minister for Investment on 24 November.

Ministry of Justice

Lord Burnett of Maldon to retire as Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales on 30 September 2023.

Whips Office

Lord Caine appointed as a Government Whip (Lord in Waiting) on 24 November, in addition to his role as Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State in the Northern Ireland Office.

Devolved Administrations:

Scottish Government

Ferguson Marine Port Glasgow – Andrew Miller appointed as Chair for three years from 1 December.

Local Authorities:

Interested in an updated contact list of Local Government leaders? Get in contact with your Dods Account Manager or Customer Services for more details.

City of London Corporation – Ian Thomas CBE appointed as Town Clerk and Chief Executive from February 2023. He will leave his role as Chief Executive at the Royal Borough of Kingston upon Thames.

Harlow Council – Andrew Bramidge appointed as Chief Executive from 16 December.

Swansea Council – Martin Nicholls appointed as Chief Executive. He has been Interim Chief Executive since March.

Wyre Council – David Henderson to stand down as Council Leader on 30 November.


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

MND Association – Tanya Curry appointed as Chief Executive from January 2023.

Who was hired, fired, retired last week – 18 November

PoliticsHome Newsletters

Get the inside track on what MPs and Peers are talking about. Sign up to The House's morning email for the latest insight and reaction from Parliamentarians, policy-makers and organisations.

Read the most recent article written by Dods People - Who's been hired, fired or retired this week in UK politics – 9 December