Mon, 24 June 2024

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Britain’s Environmental Horticulture and Gardening businesses are faced with uncertainties on crucial imports Partner content
Press releases

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Karen Buck appointed Shadow Minister for Social Security. | PA Images

Dods People

2 min read Partner content

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

Houses of Parliament:

House of Commons

Northern Ireland Affairs Committee – Stephanie Peacock replaced Conor McGinn as a member.

Joint Committee on Consolidation, &c., Bills - Richard Burgon, Maria Eagle, Christina Rees, Andy Slaughter and Owen Thompson replaced Chris Elmore, Imran Hussain, Conor McGinn and Grahame Morris as members.


Departments of State:

Ministry of Justice

Richard Heaton to stand down as Permanent Secretary this summer after his five year tenure comes to an end.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

David Concar has been appointed British High Commissioner to the United Republic of Tanzania in succession to Sarah Cooke.

Non-Ministerial Departments

Office of Qualifications and Examinations Regulation - Catherine McClellan joined the board.

HM Revenue & Customs - Angela MacDonald appointed as Deputy Chief Executive and Second Permanent Secretary from 1st August.

Office for Standards in Education, Children's Services and Skills – Christine Ryan to become Chair on 1st August, replacing Julius Weinberg.

HM Treasury

The Crown Estate Board - Robin Budenberg reappointed as Chair.



Labour Party

Karen Buck appointed Shadow Minister for Social Security.


Devolved Authorities:

Welsh Parliament

Laura Anne Jones became MS for South Wales East on 6th July, following the death of Mohammad Asghar last month.

Gareth Bennett has changed from Independent to Abolish the Welsh Assembly Party.

Scottish Government

Audit Scotland - Jackie Mann became a non-executive board member on 10th July Colin Crosby will take the same post on 1st October.


Local Authorities:

Sandwell Council - Yvonne Davies stood down as Council Leader, Maria Crompton will replace her on an interim basis.

Rochford Council - Mike Steptoe stood down as Council Leader and Simon Wootton was elected as the new Council Leader.



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at

Interest Groups

Kennel Club - Mark Beazley named as Chief Executive, replacing Rosemary Smart.

Tree Aid – Tom Skirrow appointed as Chief Executive.

Savera UK - Afrah Qassim appointed as Chief Executive.

Carers UK – Nick Baird to become Chair in October.

ActionAid UK - Srabani Sen to become Chair in September.

National Autistic Society – Norman Lamb became Vice President.

Living Streets – Lord Bates became President.

Trade Associations

Public Affairs Board - Liam Herbert elected as Chair.

Honorary Treasurers Forum - Richard Williams to replace Denise Fellows as Chief Executive.

PoliticsHome Newsletters

Get the inside track on what MPs and Peers are talking about. Sign up to The House's morning email for the latest insight and reaction from Parliamentarians, policy-makers and organisations.