Login to access your account

Fri, 5 June 2020

Personalise Your Politics

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Press releases
By Hft
By Dods General Election Hub 2019

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Dods People

4 min read Member content

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

Ministerial Changes

Andrea Leadsom resigned as Leader of the House of Commons and Lord President of the Council.

Mel Stride has been appointed as the new Leader of the House of Commons and Lord President of the Council.

Jesse Norman replaces Mel Stride as Paymaster General and Financial Secretary to the Treasury (formerly Minister of State, Department for Transport).

Michael Ellis replaces Jesse Norman as Minister of State for the Department of Transport (formerly Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport).

Rebecca Pow replaces Michael Ellis as Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State at the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport (formerly Parliamentary Private Secretary for the Department for Work and Pensions).

Houses of Parliament:  

House of Lords 

Lord Moore of Lower Marsh (Con, life peer) died 20th May.

Lord Cashman has resigned from the Labour Party, he now sits as non-affiliated.

Conduct Committee – A new House of Lords Committee has been created. Lord Mance has been appointed as Chair. Baroness Anelay of St Johns, Lord Brown of Eaton-under-Heywood, Baroness Donaghy and Baroness Hussein-Ece sit as members.

Lord Ouseley (CB, life peer) retired from the House of Lords on the 24th May.

Government Departments: 

Prime Minister’s Office

Theresa May has announced her resignation as Prime Minister and Conservative Leader, May will step down from the role on the 7th June.

Department for Education

Education and Skills Funding Agency - Charlotte Briscall has been appointed as the new Customer Experience, Digital and Data Director, starting in September.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Treasure Valuation Committee Board – Harry Bain has been reappointed as a trustee for five years, from the 22nd September.

Home Office

Jonathan Hall QC has been appointed as the Independent Reviewer of Terrorism Legislation.

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Rita French has been announced as the Foreign Secretary’s International Ambassador for Human Rights.

Department of Health and Social Care

NHS Business Services Authority – Michael Brodie will take over as CEO from Alistair McDonald this summer.

Department for Transport

British Transport Police Authority Board – Sir Craig Mackey, Andy Cooper, Graham Evans and Kenna Kintrea have been appointed to the board.

Attorney General’s Office

Alison Morgan QC and William Emlyn Jones have been appointed to the Attorney General’s Senior Treasury Council, for a period of three years.

Ministry of Defence

Ministry of Defence Police – Gareth Wilson begins his post this week as Deputy Chief Constable.

HM Treasury

UK Government Investments Ltd – Clare Hollingsworth and Andrew Duff have been appointed to the board. Ms Hollingworth’s appointment begins immediately and Mr Duff begins in April. Simon Paley will be stepping down in May.


UKIP – Mike Hookem has resigned as Deputy Leader.

Conservative – Helen Grant has resigned as Vice-chair of the Communities.

Devolved Authorities: 

National Assembly for Wales

Caroline Jones, Mark Reckless, Mandy Jones and David J Rowlands are now members of the Brexit Party.

Culture Committee – Caroline Jones no longer a member.

Local Authorities: 

Basingstoke Council – Ken Rhatigan replaces Clive Sanders as Council Leader.
Bath and North East Somerset Council – Dine Romero replaces Tim Warren as Council Leader.
Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council – Vikki Slade named as the first Council Leader.
Brighton and Hove Council – Nancy Platts replaces Daniel Yates as Council Leader.
Cheshire East Council – Sam Corcoran replaces Rachel Bailey as Council Leader.
Cheshire West Council – Louise Gittins replaces Samantha Dixon as Council Leader.
East Suffolk Council – Steve Gallant named as the first Council Leader.
Mole Valley Council – Stephen Cooksey replaces Vivienne Michael as Council Leader.
North Hertfordshire Council – Martin Stears-Hanscomb replaces Lynda Needham as Council Leader.
Nottingham City Council – David Mellen’s replaces Jon Collins as Council Leader.
West Lindsey Council – Giles McNeil replaces Jeff Summers as Council Leader.
West Suffolk Council – John Griffiths names as the first Council Leader.

By-election Results 23rd May

Isle of Scilly Council – Tim Dean elected for St Marys – Independent hold (Ted Moulson resigned).

Tendring Council – Michael Talbot (Ind) and John White (Ind) elected for St Osyth – Independent win (new ward - postponed from the 2nd May due to the death of Anita Bailey).

Neath Port Talbot Council – Dean Lewis elected for Resolven – Independent gain (due to the death of Labour councillor Des Davies).


If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at  

Interest Groups 

Teach First – Vivian Hunt DBE has been appointed to succeed Paul Drechsler as the next Chair.
British Veterinary Association – Kathleen Robertson has been elected as President of the Scottish branch.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service


Political parties
Associated Organisation