Mon, 29 November 2021

Newsletter sign-up

Subscribe now
The House Live All
Press releases
By Women in Westminster

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Imogen Spencer-Dale | Dods People

2 min read Partner content

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week. 

See the makeup of the new government, including the ongoing Parliamentary Private Secretary announcements here.


Government Departments:

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Low Carbon Contracts Company and Electricity Settlements Company - Regina Finn appointed as Chair.

Ministry of Justice

Investigatory Powers Tribunal – Andrew Knight, Charles Flint and Susan O’Brien reappointed as members.

Department for Work and Pensions

Social Security Advisory Committee - Liz Sayce named as Chair from 1st September, on an interim basis, replacing Ian Diamond.

Non-Ministerial Departments

Forestry Commission – Julia Grant reappointed as a commissioner.

UK Statistics Authority/Office of National Statistics – Ian Diamond appointed as the National Statistician, Chief Executive of the UK Statistics Authority, Permanent Secretary of the Office for National Statistics and Head of the Government Statistical Service.



Labour Party

Alex Sobel named as the Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Shadow Foreign Secretary.

Conservative Party

Helen Whately reappointed, and Paul Scully appointed, as Deputy Chair.

Alec Shelbrooke reappointed, and Andrew Bowie, David Evennett, Helen Grant, Ranil Jayawardena and Caroline Johnson appointed, as Vice-Chairs.


Devolved Authorities:

Northern Ireland Government

Northern Ireland Housing Executive – Chris Welch appointed as a member of the board.


Local Authorities:

By-election Results 8th August

Worcester Council – Mel Allcott elected for Claines – Liberal Democrat gain from Conservatives. (Stuart Denlegh-Maxwell died).

East Northamptonshire Council – Lee Walker elected for Irthlingborough Waterloo – Conservative hold. (Marika Hillson resigned).

Cambridge Council – Josh Matthews elected for Newnham – Liberal Democrat hold. (Lucy Nethsingha resigned as elected as an MEP).



If you and your organisation would like to be included in this section, then email us at [email protected]

Interest Groups

Nesta – Ravi Gurumurthy to replace Geoff Mulgan as Chief Executive at the end of the year.

World Land Trust – Jonathan Barnard to replace John Burton as Chief Executive in September.

Cats Protection – Catherine Cottrell appointed as Director of Income Generation, starting on 23rd September.

National Council for Voluntary Organisations – Peter Kellner to stand down as Chair at the end of November.

Royal National Institute of Blind People – Stuart Fox to become Director of Finance, having been in the role on an interim basis.

PoliticsHome Newsletters

Get the inside track on what MPs and Peers are talking about. Sign up to The House's morning email for the latest insight and reaction from Parliamentarians, policy-makers and organisations.

Read the most recent article written by Imogen Spencer-Dale - New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs


Political parties