New appointments this week in UK politics, the civil service and public affairs

Posted On: 
27th November 2018

Dods People draws together a list of appointments in Westminster politics, the devolved administrations and the public affairs sector in the last week.

The Palace of Westminster

Houses of Parliament:

House of Lords

EU Justice Sub-committee - Lord Lester of Herne Hill discharged as a member.

House of Commons

Joint Committee on Draft Parliamentary Buildings (Restoration and Renewal) Bill - Neil Gray, Meg Hillier, David Jones, Edward Leigh, Caroline Spelman and Mark Tami appointed as members.

Government Departments:

Baroness Barran appointed as a Baroness in Waiting (Government Whip).

Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Sea Fish Industry Authority - Michael Sheldon appointed as Deputy Chair and James Buchan and Linda Rosborough appointed as members.

Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport

Science Museum Group - Anton Valk, Professor Russell Foster, Dame Fiona Woolf, Sharon Flood and David Phoenix reappointed as members.

Department for Work and Pensions

BPDTS Ltd - Peter Dewfall joined as Head of Digital Service Management.

Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy

Financial Reporting Council – Dominic Lindley, Naomi L’Estrange and Bob Scott appointed as members of the Actuarial Council and Fiona Kordiak as a member of the Audit and Assurance Council.

Department of Health and Social Care

Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency - Ian Hudson to stand down as Chief Executive in September 2019.

Devolved Authorities:

Scottish Parliament

Environment, Climate Change and Land Reform Committee – Richard Lyle discharged as a member.

Local Government and Communities Committee – Alex Rowley named as Deputy Convener.

Welsh Assembly

Jenny Rathbone was suspended by the Labour Assembly group.

Climate Change, Environment and Rural Affairs committee – Helen Mary Jones appointed as a member.

Assembly Commission – Sian Gwenllian appointed as a Commissioner, replacing Adam Price.

Local Authorities:

Powys Council – Caroline Turner appointed as Chief Executive.

By-election Results 22nd November

Westminster City Council – Margot Bright elected for Lancaster Gate – Conservative hold. (Robert Davis resigned).

Enfield Council – James Hockney elected for Bush Hill Park – Conservative hold. (Jon Daniels resigned).

Windsor and Maidenhead Council – David Cannon elected for Datchet – Conservative hold. (Jesse Grey died).

Wirral Council – Jean Robinson elected for Upton – Labour hold. (Matthew Patrick resigned).



Interest Groups

Independent Age – Baroness Neuberger appointed as Chair of the Trustee Board.

Cafod - Christine Allen named as the new Director.

Depaul UK - Paul McKenzie named as Executive Director of Fundraising and Communications.

Fundraising Regulator – Lord Harris to replace Lord Grade as Chair in January.

National Theatre – Clare Thorp appointed as Director of Press and Communications.

ThinkForward – Ashley McCaul appointed as Chief Executive.

Want to know more? Click here for information on our Dods People UK service. You can also stay ahead of the game by subscribing to our free weekly newsletter.